The Hobson Museum, located on Main Street just south of the Hobson Library is a historical treasure in and of itself. This century old building was constructed in 1909 to house the Cook and Dunn Drugstore store which operated for nearly forty years. After World War II, with the return of many veterans, the building was purchased and remodeled by the American Legion Post 76 and the American Legion Auxiliary and served as their meeting place for over 50 years. With dwindling numbers and a growing concern about their ability to properly maintain a historic structure, the American Legion sold the building to Dale and Kathy Longfellow, owners of Hobson Insurance, in 2006. Fortunately, the Longfellows recognized the significance of the building and donated it to the Friends of the Hobson Library/Museum in 2007.
The building was moved two blocks south from its original location in the summer of 2007 and major repairs and renovations allowed the building to open as a museum in July of 2008. It was the centerpiece of Hobson's Centennial Celebration and the all class reunion in 2008.
Today it boasts of a wide variety of photographs and displays outlining the cattle and farming industries which brought people to the area a century ago. Of particular interest is the nearly complete series of high school annuals including a copy of the first one published by the first graduating class of 1914.
The museum is a repository of memories and lives in early Central Montana capturing the imagination of all visitors and displaying life in Hobson, Moccasin, Kolin, Buffalo, Straw, Utica, and Benchland at the turn of the 19th century.
Sorry, there are no events listed for Hobson at this time.