Maiden Canyon
More Counties

Fergus County Montana

Fergus County was named after James Fergus, an early Montana politician who was instrumental in establishing the county. Current county population is approximately 11,500.

Island mountain ranges fill the county and include the Snowies, Judith, Moccasin, Belt and Highwood Mountains. The area is known for spectacular recreation including fishing, hiking, upland game bird and big game hunting, camping, wildlife watching and hiking.

Lewistown is the county seat of Fergus County and it is the geographic center of Montana. The community boasts two golf courses, several city parks, a labyrinth and the popular dinner train dubbed the Charlie Russell Chew Choo.

The northern part of the county near Winifred has access to the Upper Missouri Breaks National Monument and the Wild & Scenic Missouri River. A historic river ferry operates seasonally carrying vehicles across the Missouri River north of Winifred. The eastern edge of the county borders the C. M. Russell Wildlife Refuge and national forest spans several of the mountain ranges.

The economy in Fergus County is supported primarily by grain farming, hay production and cattle ranching.

Fergus County Montana Map


  • Montana Winter Fair, Lewistown
  • Snowy Mountains Muzzleloader Rendezvous
  • Lewistown Annual Pioneer Power Days, Lewistown
  • Fergus County Fair & Rodeo, Lewistown
  • Montana Cowboy Poetry Gathering
  • Lewistown Montana Trapper Association Rendezvous
  • Lewistown Montana Chokecherry Festival, Lewistown

Blog Posts

County Facts

  • Estimated Population: 11,446
  • Land Area in Square Miles: 4,339.80
  • Persons Per Square Mile: 2.6